Insurance Company

The Insurance Company Said No. Here’s the Reason and What You Can Do About It

You filed your claim. You submitted your medical records. You did everything the insurer asked. And then the letter arrived dense, technical, and telling you that your long-term disability benefits have been denied.

For many Ontarians, that letter arrives at the worst possible time: when they are already dealing with a serious illness or injury, unable to work, and counting on the income replacement they paid into for years. The denial feels final. It often isn’t.

Insurance companies deny LTD claims for specific, documented reasons, and most of those reasons can be challenged, disputed, and in many cases overturned. Knowing which reason applies to your denial is the first step toward building an effective response. Here are the ten most common reasons long-term disability claims are denied in Ontario, and what each one actually means for your case.

Reason 1: Insufficient Medical Evidence

This is the single most frequently cited reason for LTD denials across Ontario. The insurer’s position is that the medical documentation in your file does not adequately establish the nature of your condition, its severity, or, most critically, how it limits your functional capacity in the workplace.

What makes this ground particularly frustrating is that many claimants have genuine, serious conditions supported by treating physicians, yet still receive this denial. The reason is often not that evidence doesn’t exist, but that it hasn’t been framed in the way insurers need to see it. Insurer case managers look for specific functional language: how long can you sit, stand, or concentrate? What tasks can you not perform and why? A diagnosis without that functional bridge is frequently not enough.

As Kotak Law’s 2026 analysis of LTD denials in Canada confirms, insufficient medical evidence is consistently the leading reason valid claims are rejected not because the condition isn’t real, but because the documentation doesn’t connect diagnosis to functional limitation in the specific language the policy requires.

The solution is targeted medical documentation that connects your condition directly to your workplace limitations through a detailed attending physician statement, functional capacity evaluations, and specialist reports. Whether your claim involves chronic pain, a brain injury, or a spinal cord injury, an experienced long-term disability lawyer can identify exactly what is missing from your file and help you obtain it.

Reason 2: Your Condition Does Not Meet the Policy’s Definition of Disability

Every LTD policy contains its own definition of “disability,” and that definition determines everything. Most Ontario group policies operate on a two-stage framework. For the first two years of a claim, the standard is whether your condition prevents you from performing the essential duties of your own occupation. After the two-year mark, the definition typically shifts to whether you can perform the essential duties of any occupation for which you are reasonably suited by education, training, or experience.

As Monkhouse Law’s analysis of LTD claims in Ontario notes, the Supreme Court of Canada in S. v. Paul Revere Life Insurance Co. [1983] confirmed that total disability does not require complete incapacity if common care and prudence require a person to stop working to recover, disability exists. Insurers nonetheless frequently argue that because a claimant can perform some tasks, they are not disabled under the policy.

The distinction between what you can technically do and what you can safely and sustainably do in a real work environment is one that legal representation helps establish clearly. This applies equally to car accident victims pursuing LTD claims alongside personal injury matters, and to those dealing with conditions that have built gradually over time.

Reason 3: The Two-Year Change of Definition

The shift from “own occupation” to “any occupation” at the two-year mark is where insurers most aggressively reassess files and most frequently terminate benefits that had been paid without dispute. This single transition point is responsible for a significant proportion of all mid-claim LTD terminations in Ontario.

At this stage, an insurer may acknowledge that you cannot return to your previous job but argue that you are capable of performing a lower-demand sedentary role even if that role pays significantly less, requires retraining, or is genuinely incompatible with your functional limitations. According to Blackburn Lawyers’ Ontario-specific analysis of LTD denials, claims involving mental health conditions and chronic pain are especially vulnerable at this transition because the functional limitations are harder to document with objective testing.

Documenting your true functional capacity thoroughly before this transition point is critical. Legal advice well in advance of the two-year mark produces consistently better outcomes than seeking help after termination has already occurred. If your short-term disability documentation was not comprehensive during the initial period, that gap can also weaken your position at the change of definition.

Reason 4: Pre-Existing Condition Exclusions

Most LTD policies contain pre-existing condition clauses that restrict or exclude coverage for disabilities related to conditions that existed before coverage began. If a claim is made within the first year of coverage, the insurer will typically examine the applicant’s medical history for a look-back period before coverage started. If the disabling condition is found to be related to something treated or diagnosed during that window, the claim may be denied.

As Whitten and Lublin’s analysis of LTD denials in Canada explains, insurers apply these clauses aggressively and often link seemingly unrelated symptoms under a broad interpretation of “related condition.” A pre-existing condition denial does not necessarily hold up under legal scrutiny, particularly where the connection between the prior condition and the current disabling condition is tenuous or where the policy language is ambiguous.

This is one ground of denial that particularly benefits from legal review. The factual and legal arguments available to challenge a pre-existing condition exclusion are often stronger than claimants realize when they first receive the letter.

Reason 5: Failure to Follow Prescribed Treatment

Almost all LTD policies require claimants to follow the treatment plan recommended by their treating physicians and to make genuine efforts toward recovery and rehabilitation. An insurer that believes you are not complying with appointments, declining recommended medications, or failing to attend therapy has grounds to deny or terminate benefits.

As Disability.ca’s analysis of LTD termination grounds documents, major Canadian insurers, including Manulife and Canada Life, include explicit treatment compliance requirements in their policy language, and they will use gaps in care to terminate benefits. What makes this ground particularly problematic is that insurers are rarely sympathetic to real-world reasons for non-compliance: treatment side effects, financial barriers, transportation challenges, or the impact of the condition itself on the ability to maintain consistent treatment.

This denial ground intersects directly with chronic pain conditions and mental health claims, where treatment access and adherence are frequently complicated by the very condition the claimant is being treated for. If your claim has been denied on this ground, the reasons behind any treatment gaps need to be documented and explained with your treating physician’s support.

Reason 6: Independent Medical Examination Findings

An Independent Medical Examination (IME) sounds objective. It is not. IME physicians are hired and paid by the insurer, and their assessments are routinely used to provide a veneer of medical authority to denial decisions. The same structural concern applies to in-house medical consultants who review claim files without ever physically examining the claimant.

As Whitten and Lublin’s analysis documents, IME assessors hired by insurers frequently conclude that claimants are medically fit to return to work, regardless of what the claimant’s own treating physicians have said. This does not make your claim unwinnable. Treating physician opinions, based on an ongoing clinical relationship and full understanding of the claimant’s day-to-day functioning, carry significant weight in litigation and can effectively challenge a one-time insurer-retained assessment.

If you have received an adverse IME finding, do not simply accept it. Claims involving brain injuries, spinal cord injuries, and catastrophic injuries are particularly vulnerable to IME disputes, as the complexity of these conditions makes narrow assessments easier for insurers to construct. Discuss the findings with your treating physician, obtain a detailed rebuttal report where possible, and seek legal advice promptly.

Reason 7: Surveillance and Social Media Evidence

Insurers regularly conduct surveillance of claimants, both physical observation through hired investigators and digital monitoring through public social media profiles. A single photograph, video clip, or check-in that appears inconsistent with the claimed disability can be used to challenge a claimant’s credibility and provide grounds for denial or termination.

As Kotak Law notes, even a brief moment of activity captured on camera, lifting something on a good day, attending a family event, or appearing in a photograph, is routinely presented by insurers out of context to argue that the claimant is more capable than claimed. The insurer does not see the recovery period, the pain flare that followed, or the days spent unable to leave the house.

During an active LTD claim, reviewing and restricting social media privacy settings, being thoughtful about what is posted and by whom, and keeping a consistent daily journal documenting symptoms and functional limitations all help counteract the distorted picture surveillance evidence can create. This is practical advice that a long-term disability lawyer can walk you through from the earliest stages of a claim.

Reason 8: Late Filing or Procedural Non-Compliance

LTD policies contain strict timelines for filing claims, submitting proof of disability, responding to insurer requests, and maintaining ongoing documentation. Missing these deadlines even where the underlying medical condition is genuine and well-documented can provide an insurer with a technical basis to deny the claim without ever assessing the medical merits.

As Blackburn Lawyers notes, this is one of the most preventable denial grounds and one of the most frustrating, because the claimant’s legitimate disability may be completely uncontested. Understanding your policy’s timelines from the moment a disability begins is foundational to protecting a claim. This is equally important for those navigating short-term disability preceding an LTD application, as procedural gaps in the STD period often carry forward into the LTD claim.

The Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario (FSRA) is the independent regulatory agency overseeing insurance conduct in Ontario. While FSRA’s role as a consumer complaints mechanism requires that internal insurer processes be exhausted first, understanding that a regulatory framework exists and that insurers are required to meet standards of fair dealing is important context for anyone whose claim has been handled improperly.

Reason 9: Misrepresentation on the Application

Material misrepresentation on an LTD application, whether deliberate or inadvertent, can give an insurer grounds to void coverage and deny benefits entirely. Misrepresentation includes failing to disclose pre-existing conditions, providing inaccurate information about medical history, or answering application questions in ways that create a misleading picture.

As Whitten and Lublin explain, innocent mistakes can be treated the same as deliberate misrepresentation, particularly within the first two years of coverage when policies give insurers broader rights to contest the application. If a denial has been issued on misrepresentation grounds, the specific nature of what was misrepresented, whether it was material to the risk, and whether the insurer suffered actual prejudice all become relevant legal questions that experienced disability counsel is best positioned to answer.

Reason 10: Refusal to Participate in Return-to-Work Programmes

As claimants approach the two-year mark, insurers frequently begin a coordinated effort to return them to work through vocational assessments, identifying alternative occupations, pressure to participate in graduated return-to-work programmes, and increasingly insistent communication suggesting that benefits will be terminated if the claimant does not cooperate.

This process is not inherently improper, but it is frequently conducted in ways that do not fairly account for actual functional limitations. A vocational assessment that identifies a theoretically suitable occupation does not establish that the claimant can perform that occupation in a real work environment, given their specific medical restrictions. As Kotak Law explains, refusing to participate in a return-to-work programme that is genuinely beyond your functional capacity is different from refusing to make any effort toward rehabilitation, and those distinctions matter significantly in how a resulting denial plays out legally.

Claims involving wrongful dismissal that occurred during or following an LTD dispute add another layer of complexity, one that Chorney Sidhu’s experience across both disability and employment matters is well-suited to address.

You Know What To Do… Call Chorney Sidhu.

At Chorney Sidhu Injury Lawyers in Brampton, our team has over 20 years of experience standing up to insurance companies that deny, delay, or terminate the benefits their policyholders have earned and paid into. We do not work for insurers. We work for you.

Whether your long-term disability claim has been denied at the initial stage, terminated at the two-year mark, or disputed on any of the ten grounds above, we will review your file, explain your rights, and pursue every avenue available to get you what you are entitled to. We also handle short-term disability disputes, chronic pain claims, brain injuries, catastrophic injuries, spinal cord injuries, wrongful dismissal, and the full range of personal injury matters that so often intersect with disability claims.

Contact us today for a free consultation. Call (844) 487-8482, no obligation, no upfront fees.